New House!

1

July 14, 2014 by fifi + hop

We finally found a house! Didn’t know if it would ever happen! We closed last Thursday and have been in half-celebratory/half-mad-dash-to-pack-up mode ever since. We can’t wait to get out of this apartment. It has been fine for transition, but we are so beyond ready for a yard and deck and basement and everyone’s own bedroom and living in a neighborhood, the list goes on. We didn’t move to the burbs to be in an apartment for the rest of our lives.

 

In the big scheme of things, it didn’t take us that long to find a house. I know people who spent two years looking for their homes. We didn’t get serious until late last summer or even September, and we got the accepted offer on Mother’s Day (best mama’s gift ever), so really it could have been much worse. But I did look at a ton of houses and I’m sure gave my broker a pool full of doubt, not liking any of them until this one came along. I was really starting to wonder if Larchmont wasn’t meant to be. Yes I’m picky, but the homes we were looking at anyone would be picky at; all sorts of “plan B” ideas were floating around in my head.

IMG_3106

 

The most difficult part of the process was that I had started to doubt my own strategy skills. Renting before buying, making sure we liked the town, zeroing in on a neighborhood we’d ideally like to be in, etc., all that stuff. Because when it really looked like things would maybe not happen for us, I couldn’t help but think that I had been way too over-analytical and not spontaneous enough, and that maybe renting wasn’t as smart of an idea as I thought it would be. That maybe I had put too much thought into the whole thing and not enough action – really just having the guts to pull the plug.

 

Well, of course in the end it all worked out and I have to say renting first was the best thing we could have done. Yes, we made compromises for the first two years (I call our building the “cruise ship” because it looks and feels like one, it’s huge and if you forget something on your way out, forget about it), but it gave us the platform on which to take the town in, see if we liked the public school we were zoned for, explore the area and figure out where we really wanted to live, discover what we gravitated toward most in the town. It was a thoughtful process, and it got us exactly where we could envision having a home, and just a few blocks from school to boot. I have been complaining about the lack of land since we moved here, and we actually, for Larchmont, got a decent piece of land. So, for all of you who are unsure about your move to suburbia, or know you want to move but not sure where, or have any other doubts, I highly recommend renting first! :).

– Corey

IMG_3063

One thought on “New House!

  1. Jean Scott Bartlett says:

    so very Happy for you Corey. I think you did it exactly the right way. You have a beautiful house in which to raise a beautiful family. Love you! congrats

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 578 other followers

Blog Categories

