House Hunt

Leave a comment

December 31, 2013 by fifi + hop

I suppose my New Year’s wish is to find a house. After much deliberation and back and forth, and can we really reconcile the cost of homes here on top of the unforgiving taxes, I am finally committed to buying a home. I really want a house. I want to be able to walk outside and watch the girls play and take in the outdoors, no matter how small our yard. And right now we can’t really envision living anywhere else. Larchmont was the only town my husband and I could agree upon, so we are somehow going to make it work. And we do like it here, a lot.

We will not find our dream home here. But I’m ok with that. In a way I don’t know if I totally care if I find it anyways. As someone who likes occasional change, as well as travel, knowing that we would be in the same home for the rest of our lives or even a very long time scares me a bit. Hopefully we can find something good enough for the school years and then take it from there. Maybe it will be the home I want to stay in forever, but maybe it won’t. And as I said in a previous post, I can’t imagine I’d want to pay the taxes after the school years anyways.

It took me over a year to finally get to this decision – to wholeheartedly try and make Larchmont our home and place to raise our girls. I am nervous and hopeful all at the same time. Nervous about finding a house we actually like and nervous about the financial commitment it means. Hopeful that despite all that, we really have found a great community and it’s worth it.

Larchmont is known for having just as many undesirable houses as beautiful ones, old quirky homes that need a lot of work, and a fierce competitive market that has driven many of my city friends to other towns. We started looking at the end of the summer and it’s pretty rough out there. Grant it we are in the low end of the market, yet even so, I haven’t seen much I’d consider. But we have what I hope will be the advantage and stability of already renting here and therefore not the desperate pressure upon us –
so come this winter and spring when more homes come on the market, bring on all the bidding wars and let-downs..we are ready and hope to within all that find a house we love and can’t wait to move into.

Here’s to good fortune in 2014 and Happy New Year to all our readers!

– Corey

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 578 other followers

Blog Categories

